New California law requiring insurance companies to provide paid leave for new mothers

The California legislature has passed a bill that requires employers to provide a paid leave program for new parents, which is a significant step toward providing more paid time off to help support new mothers.

The bill, SB 638, was introduced on Feb. 7 by Assemblyman Bill Shorten (D-San Francisco) and is now headed to the Senate.

Under the legislation, employers would be required to provide at least 30 days of paid leave annually for new and changing employees, according to a news release from the California Legislative Analyst’s Office.

The proposed paid leave would be available to new parents in all industries, except for health care.

Under current law, employers have to provide 15 days of leave per year for each new parent, the release stated.

The legislation also requires employers who offer paid leave benefits for new employees to also offer the same benefits for their existing employees, and provides an exemption from state requirements that would allow employers to use their own payroll system to pay employees.

The state’s minimum wage is currently $8.75 per hour.

If SB 678 passes the Assembly, the minimum wage will be raised to $8 per hour by 2021, according the news release.

The news release said that the bill has been passed by both chambers of the California Legislature.

In California, the majority of states require companies to pay paid leave.

Some states, including New York, Arizona and California, also require employers to offer paid family leave.

In a letter to lawmakers, California’s Labor Commissioner, David Chiu, said that, while California is not among the states that mandate paid leave, it has one of the highest rates of maternal mortality and is a major contributor to the state’s infant mortality.

Chiu said that while the state would not require employers with more than five employees to offer a paid family plan, employers with fewer than five will have to offer at least 15 days per year of paid family time.

Chiang said that employers that did not comply with the law could face fines or other consequences.

The law does not apply to employers who have health insurance plans that do not provide paid family coverage.